Advising Committee

The Medical School Advising Committee (MSAC) is a team of faculty and medical students that meet monthly to discuss updates on advising programs and activities geared towards improving students’ success in matching in their top choice of specialty. Faculty members serve a two-year term and student members serve a one-year term.

If you are interested in serving in the MSAC committee, please contact Dr. Norma A. Pérez

Committee Faculty Members

Michael Ainsworth, MDSr. Associate Dean Educational Performance
Office of Academic Affairsmainswor@utmb.edu(409) 772-3619
Ruth E. Levine, MDAssociate Dean OSAA
Student Affairs and Admissionsrlevine@utmb.edu
Norma A. Perez, MD, DrPHDirector Hispanic Center of ExcellenceStudent Affairs and Admissionsnoaperez@utmb.edu(409) 772-3558
Majka Woods, PhDAssociate Dean Educational AffairsEducation Affairsmajwoods@utmb.edu(409) 772-2759
Marci Contreas, PACAssistant ProfessorPhysician Assistant Studiesmrcontre@utmb.edu(409) 772-9594
Norman M. Farr, MD, MPHAssistant ProfessorInternal Medicine-General Medicinenmfarr@utmb.edu(409) 772-0173
Michael H. Malloy, MDProfessorDean Student Societiesmmalloy@utmb.edu(409) 772-2815
Barbara D. Calvert-Escoubas, PhDAssistant ProfessorPsychiatry/Behavioral Sciencebdcalver@utmb.edu(409) 747-9508
Bernard Karnath, MDProfessorDirector, POM II, III, IVbmkarnat@utmb.edu(409) 772-4182
Melissa M. Smith-Phillips, MD, PhDAssistant ProfessorPediatric Urgent Care Centermemsmith@utmb.edu(409) 772-6829
Misha F. Syed, MDAssociate ProfessorOphthalmologymfsyed@utmb.edu(409) 747-5801
Dawnelle Schatte, MDAssociate ProfessorPsychiatrydaschatt@utmb.edu(409) 747-9675
Rafael Fonseca, MDAssociate ProfessorPediatric Neonatologyrafonsec@utmb.edu(409) 772-2815
Melissa Smith-Phillips, MDAssociate ProfessorPediatricsmemsnith@utmb.edu(409) 772-6829
Soham Al Snih, MD, PhDAssociate ProfessorRehabilitation Sciencessoalsnih@utmb.edu(409) 266-9691

Student Members

Preston K. IgweMS3 Student RepresentativeSchool of Medicinepkigwe@utmb.edu
Tomas ReamMS2 Student RepresentativeSchool of Medicinetmream@utmb.edu
Kendall WermineMS1 Student RepresentativeSchool of Medicinekewermin@utmb.edu