School of Medicine MD Program Student AffairsAcademic Support and Career Counseling

Advising Committee

The Medical School Advising Committee (MSAC) is a team of faculty and medical students that meet monthly to discuss updates on advising programs and activities geared towards improving students’ success in matching in their top choice of specialty. Faculty members serve a two-year term and student members serve a one-year term.

If you are interested in serving in the MSAC committee, please contact Dr. Norma A. Pérez

Committee Faculty Members

Ruth E. Levine, MDAssoc Dean OSAA
Student Affairs and Admissionsrlevine@UTMB.EDU

Norma A. Perez, MD, DrPH
Dir Hispanic Cnt of ExcellenceStudent Affairs and
(409) 772-3558
Majka Woods, PhDAssoc Dean Educational AffairsEducation 772-2759
Norman M. Farr, MD, MPHAsst Prof- N-T Track ClinicalInternal Medicine-General 772-0173
Michael H. Malloy, MDProfessorPediatric 772-2815
Barbara D. Calvert-Escoubas, PhDAsst Prof- N-T Track ClinicalPsychiatry/Behavioral 747-9508
Bernard Karnath, MDProfessorInternal Medicine-General 772-4182
Melissa M. Smith-Phillips, MD, PhDAsst Prof- N-T Track ClinicalPediatric Urgent Care 772-6829
Misha F. Syed, MDAssoc Prof- N-T Track 747-5801

Committee Student Members

Kara J. JencksMed Student 3School of
Preston K. IgweMed Student 2School of