School of Medicine MD Program Student AffairsAcademic Support and Career Counseling

Advising Committee

The Medical School Advising Committee (MSAC) is a team of faculty and medical students that meet monthly to discuss updates on advising programs and activities geared towards improving students’ success in matching in their top choice of specialty. Faculty members serve a two-year term and student members serve a one-year term.

If you are interested in serving in the MSAC committee, please contact Dr. Norma A. Pérez

Committee Faculty Members

Ruth E. Levine, MDAssoc Dean OSAA
Student Affairs and Admissionsrlevine@UTMB.EDU

Norma A. Perez, MD, DrPH
Dir Hispanic Cnt of ExcellenceStudent Affairs and Admissionsnoaperez@utmb.edu
(409) 772-3558
Majka Woods, PhDAssoc Dean Educational AffairsEducation Affairsmajwoods@utmb.edu(409) 772-2759
Norman M. Farr, MD, MPHAsst Prof- N-T Track ClinicalInternal Medicine-General Medicinenmfarr@utmb.edu(409) 772-0173
Michael H. Malloy, MDProfessorPediatric Neonatologymmalloy@utmb.edu(409) 772-2815
Barbara D. Calvert-Escoubas, PhDAsst Prof- N-T Track ClinicalPsychiatry/Behavioral Sciencebdcalver@utmb.edu(409) 747-9508
Bernard Karnath, MDProfessorInternal Medicine-General Medicinebmkarnat@utmb.edu(409) 772-4182
Melissa M. Smith-Phillips, MD, PhDAsst Prof- N-T Track ClinicalPediatric Urgent Care Centermemsmith@utmb.edu(409) 772-6829
Misha F. Syed, MDAssoc Prof- N-T Track ClinicalOphthalmologymfsyed@utmb.edu(409) 747-5801

Committee Student Members

Kara J. JencksMed Student 3School of Medicinekjjencks@utmb.edu
Preston K. IgweMed Student 2School of Medicinepkigwe@utmb.edu